23 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 09/28/2025Number 23 is a prime integer, often noted for mathematical and cultural significance; in Roman numerals it is written as XXIII, combining two tens (XX) with three ones (III). Understanding XXIII illustrates basic Roman numeral rules, including additive formation and limited subtractive notation, useful for reading clocks, dates, and historical inscriptions.
How to Write 23 in Roman Numerals?
To write 23 as Roman numerals: split 23 into tens and units (20 and 3). Convert 20 into two tens, each ten equals X, so 20 becomes XX. Convert 3 into three ones, each one equals I, so 3 becomes III. Combine them: XX + III. This shows twenty-three is written XXIII in Roman numerals.
Breakdown of 23
- XX=20
- III=3
Together, they form
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 23 in Roman Numerals
Academic citation
In academic citations, Chapter XXIII denotes chapter twenty-three; students should convert Roman numerals to Arabic numerals, verify pagination, and cite the original edition correctly to avoid confusion when cross-referencing historical literature and scholarly sources.
Sports event
The 1990 championship, Super Bowl XXIII, remains a landmark in NFL history; sports historians use the Roman numeral designation to index games, discuss statistics, and teach students how Roman numerals label annual sporting events consistently.
Papal name
In ecclesiastical records, Pope John XXIII is recorded using Roman numerals; theology students learn to read papal names with XXIII to understand succession, dates, and historical context when studying church history and canonical documents.
Commemorative plaque
Commemorative plaques often use Roman numerals like XXIII to mark a twenty-third anniversary or event; museum educators explain this convention to visitors, demonstrating how Roman numerals convey formality and how to translate XXIII to Arabic numerals.
Legal article
In constitutional law, Article XXIII may designate a specific provision; law students are taught to recognize Roman numerals in statutes and treaties, cross-reference Article XXIII with commentaries, and accurately interpret historical legal documents.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz