22 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 09/28/2026The number 22 is an even integer that follows 21 and precedes 23. In mathematics it factors as 2 Γ 11 and appears in calendrical and cultural contexts. Its Roman numeral representation is XXII, formed by placing two tens (XX) before two ones (II), reflecting additive notation used in ancient Rome.
Learn how Roman numerals work β
How to Write 22 in Roman Numerals?
To write 22 in Roman numerals, note X = 10 and I = 1. Step 1: split 22 into 20 + 2. Step 2: represent 20 as XX (10 + 10). Step 3: represent 2 as II (1 + 1). Step 4: combine them: XX + II = XXII as a check.
Breakdown of 22
- XX=20
- II=2
Together, they form
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 22 in Roman Numerals
Timekeeping
On a 24-hour clock, 22 corresponds to 10 p.m., often shown as 22:00; using 'XXII' on a commemorative watch teaches students how Roman numerals represent hours and connects historical notation to modern timekeeping practices.
Sports
Sports events are frequently numbered with Roman numerals; for example, Super Bowl XXII identifies the 22nd game in the series, helping fans and historians quickly recognize and compare seasons across decades.
Regnal numbers
In royal lists, the suffix 'XXII' after a name distinguishes the twenty-second monarch with that name, teaching students how Roman numerals serve as concise regnal markers in history books and genealogical records.
Awards
Film historians cite the 22nd Academy Awards as 'XXII Academy Awards'; teaching this shows students how awards, conferences, and annual events often employ Roman numerals for formal numbering and archival clarity.
Literature
In classic literature or scholarly editions, Chapter 22 is frequently printed as 'Chapter XXII'; using Roman numerals in table of contents and chapter headings demonstrates historical publishing conventions and aids students in textual scholarship.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz