21 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 09/28/2026The number 21 combines two decades and one unit, represented in Roman numerals as XXI. Used across clocks, dates, and lists, XXI follows XX (20) and precedes XXII (22), illustrating Roman additive notation where X (10) twice plus I (1) equals 21. It's common in historical inscriptions and modern stylized numbering.
Learn how Roman numerals work β
How to Write 21 in Roman Numerals?
To write 21 in Roman numerals, break it into 10 + 10 + 1. Represent 10 by X, so two tens give XX. Represent 1 by I and append it. Follow descending-value order: XX + I equals XXI. Step-by-step conversion clearly yields XXI as the correct Roman numeral for twenty-one.
Breakdown of 21
- XX=20
- I=1
Together, they form
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 21 in Roman Numerals
Sports (Super Bowl XXI)
When historians or sports commentators refer to Super Bowl XXI, they use Roman numerals to identify the 1987 championship game, teaching students how XXI represents twenty-one and how events are dated using classical numeric notation.
Legal Documents (Article XXI)
In legal documents, Article XXI often appears as a heading, and lawyers teach clients that using XXI instead of 21 adds formality and clarity, illustrating how Roman numerals mark sections and preserve traditional legal formatting.
Invitations (21st Anniversary)
Couples and invitation designers sometimes write anniversaries as 'XXI' on stationery to denote a twenty-first year celebration, teaching students practical typography and demonstrating that XXI corresponds to twenty-one in formal printed materials.
Textbooks (Chapter XXI)
Textbook table of contents frequently label Chapter XXI to indicate unit twenty-one; teachers use this to explain Roman numeral placement, helping learners map chapters, understand sequencing, and recognize XXI as the conventional form for twenty-one.
Awards (XXI Academy Awards)
Film historians cite the XXI Academy Awards when discussing the 1949 ceremony, showing students that awards and recurring events often employ Roman numerals; this practice teaches how XXI denotes the twenty-first iteration of an annual event.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz