88 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 02/15/2026
Understanding 88 in Roman Numerals helps decode ancient numbering: 88 is written as LXXXVIII, combining L (50), three Xs (30) and three Is (3). This compact system reflects additive rules and historical usage in inscriptions, clocks, and educational contexts, offering insight into Roman numeral structure and practical conversions for modern learners.
LXXXVIII
How to Write 88 in Roman Numerals?
To write 88 in Roman numerals, break it into 50 + 30 + 8. 50 is L. 30 is XXX (10 + 10 + 10). 8 is VIII (5 + 1 + 1 + 1). Combine the symbols in order: L + XXX + VIII, giving LXXXVIII as the Roman numeral for 88.
Breakdown of 88
  • L
    =
    50
[...]
  • III
    =
    3
Together, they form
LXXXVIII
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 88 in Roman Numerals
Teaching Factorization with LXXXVIII (88)
In mathematics, 88 (Roman numeral LXXXVIII) equals 2^3 Γ— 11, an even composite number with divisors 1,2,4,8,11,22,44,88; its digital palindrome makes it a simple example for teaching factorization and divisibility rules.
88 BC: Sulla, Mithridates, and the First Mithridatic War
In 88 BC (Roman numeral LXXXVIII BC), Sulla marched on Rome and Mithridates VI ordered the Asiatic Vespers massacre, events that triggered the First Mithridatic War and reshaped late Republican Roman politics.
Piano Culture: LXXXVIII Represents 88 Keys
88 (Roman numeral LXXXVIII) famously denotes the 88 keys of a standard piano, a cultural touchstone linking instrument design to repertoire, teaching, and acoustics; musicians often use '88' as shorthand for the piano's full keyboard range.
Atomic Number 88: Radium (LXXXVIII) and Lab Safety
Atomic number 88 (symbol Ra, Roman numeral LXXXVIII) identifies radium, once used in luminous paints and medical treatments; modern practical applications emphasize strict safety protocols, regulation, and careful handling due to its intense radioactivity.
Lucky Eights: 88 (LXXXVIII) as Fortune and 'Bye-Bye'
In East Asian culture, 88 (Roman numeral LXXXVIII) multiplies the lucky digit eight's fortune; in Chinese internet slang '88' phonetically resembles 'bye-bye', combining auspicious symbolism with casual farewell usage in messaging and marketing.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 88
NumberRoman