87 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 02/15/2026
87 in Roman Numerals is written as LXXXVII, combining L (50), two Xs for 20, and VII (7). This concise notation demonstrates additive Roman numeral rules: place larger values before smaller ones to sum them. Understanding LXXXVII helps learners recognize patterns and apply Roman numeral conventions to read and write numbers confidently.
LXXXVII
How to Write 87 in Roman Numerals?
To write 87 in Roman numerals, break it into 80 and 7. Represent 80 as LXXX (50 + 10 + 10 + 10). Represent 7 as VII (5 + 1 + 1). Combine them: LXXX + VII = LXXXVII. Thus 87 is written LXXXVII, using additive notation without subtraction explicitly.
Breakdown of 87
  • L
    =
    50
[...]
  • II
    =
    2
Together, they form
LXXXVII
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 87 in Roman Numerals
Factoring 87: Prime decomposition lesson
The prime decomposition of 87 (LXXXVII) is 3 × 29, showing it is a composite odd number; students can practice factoring and divisibility rules by verifying 87 is divisible by 3 but not by 2, 5, or 11.
AD 87: Roman campaigns and records
In AD 87 (LXXXVII), Roman Emperor Domitian conducted campaigns along the Danube, consolidating imperial borders; historians study inscriptions and coins dated 87 to trace military movements and administrative reforms of the late first century.
Element 87: Francium’s rare curiosity
The element with atomic number 87 (LXXXVII), francium, is extremely rare and highly radioactive; collectors and chemists regard 87 as a curiosity because its fleeting isotopes decay quickly, making direct experiments and cultural references notably scarce.
Practical tip: Converting and engraving LXXXVII
Converting 87 to Roman numerals yields LXXXVII; practical uses include engraving dates, reading historic plaques, or verifying serial numbers. To teach conversion, combine L (50) + XXX (30) + VII (7) step by step for clarity.
Sports icon: Sidney Crosby and the number 87
Sidney Crosby wears number 87 (LXXXVII) for the Pittsburgh Penguins; the jersey has become iconic, inspiring fans and collectors worldwide to seek LXXXVII memorabilia like signed jerseys, posters, and limited-edition prints.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 87
NumberRoman