Romanumerals Logo
84 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 06/30/2026
84 in Roman Numerals is written as LXXXIV. This numeral combines L (50) and XXX (30) with IV (4), using subtractive notation for the final four. Understanding its components helps when converting between Arabic and Roman systems, illustrating how Roman numerals represent values by combining symbols and occasionally placing smaller ones before larger ones to indicate subtraction.
Learn how Roman numerals work
LXXXIV
How to Write 84 in Roman Numerals?
To write 84 in Roman numerals, break it into fifty plus thirty plus four. Represent fifty as L, thirty as XXX, and four as IV (one before five). Combine them left to right as L then XXX then IV to form LXXXIV. Tens are added largest to smallest, and IV denotes four.
Breakdown of 84
  • L
    =
    50
  • XXX
    =
    30
  • IV
    =
    4
Together, they form
LXXXIV
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 84 in Roman Numerals
Prime Factors and Roman Form: 84 (LXXXIV)
The number 84 is composite with prime factorization 2^2 × 3 × 7; written as LXXXIV in Roman numerals, it illustrates subtraction notation (IV) and grouping of tens (LXXX) for teaching place value.
Year 84 AD: LXXXIV on Roman Inscriptions
In Roman history, the year 84 AD (LXXXIV) saw Emperor Domitian’s campaigns and construction projects; Roman numerals such as LXXXIV commonly appear on inscriptions, milestones, coins, and official records across the ancient empire.
Polonium's Atomic Number: LXXXIV in Science Curiosities
Atomic number 84 belongs to polonium, discovered by Marie and Pierre Curie; its association with LXXXIV shows how scientists and collectors sometimes label vintage periodic tables and medals using Roman numerals for elegant presentation.
Practical Event Tip: Use LXXXIV for 84 Guests
If planning seating for 84 guests, divide into tables of six yields 14 tables; display table numbers in Roman numerals like LXXXIV for table advertising or formal event place cards to add classical flair.
Puzzle Design Fun: Why LXXXIV Appeals
In Roman numeral puzzles, LXXXIV is often used because it includes subtraction IV and three repeated Xs, teaching readers about limits on repetition; puzzle creators favor LXXXIV for its balanced symbols and visual symmetry.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 84
NumberRoman
82
LXXXII
83
LXXXIII
84
LXXXIV
85
LXXXV
86
LXXXVI