83 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 09/28/202683 in Roman Numerals is written as LXXXIII, combining symbols to represent 50 + 30 + 3. Romans formed numbers by placing L (50) before three Xs (10 each) and three I's (1 each), which are added together. Understanding LXXXIII illustrates additive Roman numeral rules and gives a clear ancient-number example.
Learn how Roman numerals work →
How to Write 83 in Roman Numerals?
To convert 83 to Roman numerals: break 83 into 50 + 30 + 3. 50 is L, 30 is XXX (three tens), and 3 is III (three ones). Combine these symbols in descending order: LXXXIII. This follows standard additive notation without subtraction. It is correct and commonly used in clocks and inscriptions.
Breakdown of 83
- L=50
- XXX=30
- III=3
Together, they form
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 83 in Roman Numerals
Prime Properties and Binary of 83 (LXXXIII)
Number 83 (LXXXIII) is the 23rd prime and a Sophie Germain prime; students can explore divisibility, modular arithmetic, and prime patterns by testing factors, binary form 1010011, and its role in simple cryptographic examples.
How Romans Used LXXXIII on Inscriptions
LXXXIII appears on Roman inscriptions to denote the number 83, helping historians precisely date coins, milestones, and monuments; archaeologists use such numerals to reconstruct chronologies, attribute artifacts, and cross-reference historical events in a timeline.
Element 83: Bismuth's Unique Appeal (LXXXIII)
Atomic number 83 (LXXXIII) identifies bismuth (Bi), a brittle, low-toxicity metal with iridescent oxide crystals; artists and scientists value bismuth for colorful ingots, cosmetics research, and as a non-toxic lead alternative in specialty alloys.
Using 83° in Design and Carpentry
When a designer specifies an angle of 83 degrees (LXXXIII°), carpenters and CAD users must set precise cuts and constraints; note that 83° is acute, common in custom furniture joints and ergonomic product shaping.
Pop Culture: Film '83 and LXXXIII Memorabilia
Fun trivia: The Bollywood film '83 celebrates India's 1983 Cricket World Cup victory; fans often stylize the year numerically, and collectors display memorabilia emblazoned with 83 or Roman numerals LXXXIII to honor that historic upset.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz