Romanumerals Logo
73 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 09/28/2026
73 in Roman Numerals appears as LXXIII, combining L (50) with two Xs (20) and three Is (3). This concise notation reflects Roman additive rules and historical numeral conventions used across inscriptions, documents, and clocks, offering a simple example to learn place-value absence and symbol repetition in the classical Roman counting system.
Learn how Roman numerals work β†’
LXXIII
How to Write 73 in Roman Numerals?
To write 73 in Roman numerals: break 73 into 50 + 20 + 3. 50 is L, 20 is XX (10+10), and 3 is III (1+1+1). Combine the symbols from largest to smallest: L + XX + III = LXXIII. Thus 73 is written as LXXIII. No subtraction rules apply here.
Breakdown of 73
  • L
    =
    50
  • XX
    =
    20
  • III
    =
    3
Together, they form
LXXIII
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 73 in Roman Numerals
Prime Properties and Palindromic Binary
In number theory, 73 is a prime number and twin prime partner with 71; expressed in Roman numerals as LXXIII, its unique properties include being the 21st prime and having binary representation 1001001, a palindrome.
AD 73 and Roman Inscriptions
During AD 73, Roman forces concluded the siege of Masada, marking a significant Judean revolt episode; historians reference LXXIII when translating inscriptions, connecting the numeral form with dated artefacts and imperial records from the Flavian period.
73 in Pop Culture and Fan Easter Eggs
In popular culture, 73 gained quirky fame when a TV character declared it the best number; collectors sometimes seek items labeled LXXIII, and fans enjoy numeric easter eggs that celebrate prime identities and symmetrical patterns.
Publishing Practicality: Page LXXIII in Front Matter
Editors often use Roman numerals for front matter, so page LXXIII denotes the seventy-third preliminary page; understanding that convention helps designers and printers paginate books correctly and ensures consistent numbering across editions and formats.
Elemental Trivia: Tantalum (73) and LXXIII
Fun trivia: element number 73 is tantalum (Ta), named after Tantalus from Greek myth; tables label it 73, and collectors sometimes engrave LXXIII on scientific items as a playful nod to chemistry history.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 73
NumberRoman
71
LXXI
72
LXXII
73
LXXIII
74
LXXIV
75
LXXV