64 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 04/01/2026
64 in Roman Numerals is written as LXIV, combining L for 50, X for 10 and IV for 4. This numeral demonstrates subtractive notation where I before V subtracts one to make four. Understanding LXIV helps illustrate Roman numeral rules: large values placed before smaller values add, while a smaller value before a larger one subtracts, enabling concise representation.
LXIV
How to Write 64 in Roman Numerals?
Write 64 as 50 plus 10 plus 4. 50 is L, 10 is X, 4 is IV (one before five). Combine symbols from largest to smallest: L + X + IV = LXIV. So 64 in Roman numerals is LXIV, using subtraction for 4 and additive notation for 50 and 10.
Breakdown of 64
  • L
    =
    50
  • X
    =
    10
  • IV
    =
    4
Together, they form
LXIV
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 64 in Roman Numerals
Understanding 64 as Powers: LXIV and Exponents
Mathematical explanation: 64 equals 2^6 and can be written as LXIV in Roman numerals; recognizing its prime factorization of 2×2×2×2×2×2 helps students understand exponents, binary shifts, and powers in arithmetic.
AD 64 (LXIV): The Great Fire and Its Legacy
Historical note: The year AD 64 (LXIV) is remembered for Rome's Great Fire during Emperor Nero's reign; historians debate sources and reconstruction, making LXIV a pivotal date in Roman urban, political, and cultural transformations.
Chessboard Connection: LXIV and 64 Squares
Cultural curiosity: A standard chessboard contains 64 squares, expressed as LXIV in Roman numerals; this association links ancient numbering systems with modern games, inspiring mnemonic devices and artistic designs celebrating strategy and symmetry.
64-bit Computing: LXIV in Modern Technology
Practical tech note: In computing, 64-bit architecture (often referred to as x64 or AMD64) supports larger memory addressing and performance; representing 64 as LXIV in documentation can add historical flair to technical guides or product names.
A Rare Number: LXIV Is Both Square and Cube
Fun trivia: Sixty-four (LXIV) is unique because it equals 8^2, 4^3, and 2^6; being both a perfect square and perfect cube makes LXIV interesting for recreational math and number puzzles.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 64
NumberRoman