62 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 02/15/2026
62 in Roman Numerals is written as LXII. This numeral combines L (50) with X (10) and II (2), demonstrating additive notation used by ancient Romans. Learning LXII helps students understand symbol values, grouping rules, and how larger numbers form from base symbols. It’s a simple example of Roman numeral construction and historical numeric notation.
LXII
How to Write 62 in Roman Numerals?
To write 62 in Roman numerals, break it into 50 + 10 + 2. Fifty is L, ten is X, and two is II. Place symbols from largest to smallest without subtraction: L (50) + X (10) + II (2). Combine them to get LXII. This follows the additive rule used in Roman numerals.
Breakdown of 62
  • L
    =
    50
  • X
    =
    10
  • II
    =
    2
Together, they form
LXII
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 62 in Roman Numerals
Teaching LXII Using Place Value
In Roman numerals, 62 is written as LXII; teach students grouping rules by showing LX (50 plus 10) and II (two), reinforcing addition and place value using ancient numeral conventions for practical understanding.
LXII on Roman Imperial Inscriptions
Emperors often used Roman numerals on monuments; the inscription LXII marked a building anniversary or legion number, linking the value sixty-two to administrative records and commemorative dates in imperial Rome's public and military chronicles.
Classical Design: LXII on Clocks
In clocks and watches themed with classical motifs, LXII may appear as decorative detail representing 62 minutes or a design motif; collectors appreciate such Roman numeral usage for aesthetic authenticity and historical resonance in timepieces.
Samarium (Atomic 62) and Roman Numerals
Atomic number 62 corresponds to samarium (Sm), a rare earth used in magnets and lasers; label LXII alongside the periodic symbol in educational displays to connect Roman numerals with modern chemical notation and engineering applications.
Factor Fun: LXII as 2Γ—31
Fun trivia: LXII is an even composite number equal to 2 Γ— 31, where 31 is prime; this makes sixty-two a product of a small prime and two, useful when creating puzzles involving factor pairs and symmetry.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 62
NumberRoman