Romanumerals Logo
29 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 08/14/2026
29 in Roman Numerals is written as XXIX, combining symbols for ten (X) and nine (IX) using subtractive notation. This form illustrates Roman numeral rules: place larger values left to add, and place a smaller value before a larger one to subtract. Understanding XXIX helps decode ancient inscriptions, dates, and classical numbering systems.
Learn how Roman numerals work β†’
XXIX
How to Write 29 in Roman Numerals?
To write twenty nine in Roman numerals, first split it into ten plus ten plus nine. Represent each ten with X and X for twenty. Represent nine using subtractive notation: one before ten, written IX. Combine the parts X, X and IX to form XXIX, so twenty nine is written as XXIX
Breakdown of 29
  • XX
    =
    20
  • IX
    =
    9
Together, they form
XXIX
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 29 in Roman Numerals
Prime Properties of XXIX
29 is a prime number; illustrate that its only positive factors are one and itself, demonstrate trial division up to √29, and show how the Roman numeral XXIX represents this prime in classical notation.
XXIX in Roman Calendar Records
In ancient Rome the symbol XXIX marked the twenty-ninth day of months in stone inscriptions and official calendars; scribes used this notation for civic records, legal deadlines, and festival scheduling preserved on monuments and tablets.
Pocket Watches and XXIX Commemorations
Some collectors admire pocket watches engraved with XXIX to commemorate twenty-nine years of service or events; Roman numerals add antique charm, turning the simple number twenty-nine into a sentimental emblem engraved on brass cases.
Using XXIX in Museum Cataloging
When completing historical reproduction forms, record the numeral XXIX for entries requiring Roman-style numbering; this ensures consistency in museum catalogs, archival labels, and exhibition tags where '29' must appear in classical numeral format.
Copper's Connection to 29 (XXIX)
Atomic number 29 corresponds to copper (Cu), a metal central to human history; collectors note this coincidence when seeing XXIX on coins or plaques, linking the Roman numeral for twenty-nine to metallurgy and currency traditions.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 29
Frequently Asked Questions