Romanumerals Logo
31 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 06/30/2026
31 in Roman Numerals is written as XXXI, combining XXX for thirty and I for one; this additive form reflects the Roman numeral system’s use of repeated symbols, origin in ancient Rome, and practical application on clocks, inscriptions, and numbering sequences to represent cardinal values simply and clearly across historical and modern contexts.
Learn how Roman numerals work
XXXI
How to Write 31 in Roman Numerals?
To write 31 as a Roman numeral: break the number into 30 + 1. Represent 30 as three tens: 10 + 10 + 10 = XXX. Represent 1 as I. Combine the parts: XXX + I = XXXI. Therefore, 31 in Roman numerals is written as XXXI. This method follows standard Roman numeral rules and notation.
Breakdown of 31
  • XXX
    =
    30
  • I
    =
    1
Together, they form
XXXI
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 31 in Roman Numerals
Prime Properties of 31 (XXXI)
Mathematical Primer: 31 (XXXI) is a prime number with no divisors besides 1 and itself; expressible as 2 to the 5th minus 1, a Mersenne prime, and appears in binary as 11111, useful for teaching.
31 BCE and the Rise of Octavian
Historical Context: In 31 BCE, the decisive Battle of Actium sealed Octavian’s rise; inscriptions from the era use Roman numerals like XXXI to mark years, legion numbers, or memorial dates on monuments and coins across the empire.
Why 31 Inspired Baskin-Robbins’ Slogan
Cultural Curiosity: The number 31 (XXXI) inspired Baskin-Robbins’ famous slogan promising 31 ice cream flavors, one for each day of the month; this branding became a global cultural icon linking numerals to everyday choices.
Engraving Dates: Using XXXI for the 31st
Practical Application: When engraving anniversaries, legal documents, or calendar plaques, convert the day '31' into Roman numerals as XXXI for a classical aesthetic; ensure correct notation and spacing to preserve historical authenticity and legibility.
Gallium: Atomic Number 31 and a Melting Metal
Fun Trivia: Atomic number 31 corresponds to gallium (Ga), a soft metal that can melt in your hand near 29.8°C; museums sometimes label exhibits with Roman numerals like XXXI to attract curious visitors.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 31
Frequently Asked Questions