Romanumerals Logo
80 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 06/30/2026
80 in Roman Numerals is written as LXXX, combining L (50) with three Xs (10 each). This numeral demonstrates the additive rule of Roman notation, where symbols placed from largest to smallest are summed. Recognizing LXXX helps learners practice grouping and basic Roman numeral conventions used in clocks, lists, and historical inscriptions.
Learn how Roman numerals work β†’
LXXX
How to Write 80 in Roman Numerals?
To write 80 in Roman numerals: start with 50 (L), then add three tens (XXX) because each ten is X, giving L + XXX = LXXX. Step 1: identify 50 as L. Step 2: add 30 as XXX. Step 3: combine to form LXXX, which represents 80, using additive notation.
Breakdown of 80
  • L
    =
    50
  • XXX
    =
    30
Together, they form
LXXX
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 80 in Roman Numerals
Teaching Factors with LXXX
Teachers often use 80 (LXXX) to illustrate factors and multiples: its prime factorization is 2^4 Γ— 5, yielding divisors such as 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 10, 16, 20, 40, 80 for GCD and LCM lessons.
LXXX and the Colosseum Dedication (80 AD)
In 80 AD (LXXX), Emperor Titus dedicated the Flavian Amphitheatre, known as the Colosseum, after completing its construction, marking a defining moment of Roman architecture and public spectacle history for centuries.
Eighty as a Cultural Milestone
Cultural curiosity: turning eighty (80, LXXX) is widely celebrated across cultures as an octogenarian milestone, often marked by family gatherings, special ceremonies, longevity symbols, and customary gifts that honor long life and experience.
Using LXXX in Formal Document Numbering
When formatting documents or outlines, use Roman numeral LXXX to label the eightieth chapter, page, or appendix; it maintains classical style and clarity in scholarly works, legal texts, or commemorative publications.
Mercury's Atomic Number: LXXX
Fun trivia: the chemical element mercury has atomic number 80 (LXXX) and symbol Hg; historically called quicksilver, it fascinated alchemists, conducts heat poorly in solid form, and remains notable for toxicity and thermometer use.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 80
NumberRoman
78
LXXVIII
79
LXXIX
80
LXXX
81
LXXXI
82
LXXXII