48 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 02/15/2026
48 in Roman Numerals is written as XLVIII, combining subtraction and addition principles: XL (50 minus 10) and VIII (5 plus three ones). Understanding XLVIII illustrates how Romans used symbols (I, V, X, L) to represent numbers efficiently, emphasizing placement rules and reducing repetitive characters for clarity and historical numeral conventions.
XLVIII
How to Write 48 in Roman Numerals?
To write 48 in Roman numerals, first break it into 40 + 8. Use subtractive notation for 40: XL (50 minus 10). Build 8 as VIII (5 plus 3). Then concatenate XL and VIII to form XLVIII. So 48 in Roman numerals is written as XLVIII, read left to right with no spaces.
Breakdown of 48
  • XL
    =
    40
  • V
    =
    5
  • III
    =
    3
Together, they form
XLVIII
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 48 in Roman Numerals
Teaching Prime Factors: XLVIII (48) Explained
In Roman numerals XLVIII represents 48, whose prime factorization is 2^4 × 3. Students practice dividing 48 into equal groups, exploring its ten divisors and learning least common multiple and greatest common divisor concepts practically.
Dating Roman Inscriptions: XLVIII and 48 AD
The Roman numeral XLVIII appears on ancient inscriptions marking the year 48 AD, during Emperor Claudius’s reign when Roman administration expanded. Epigraphists study such markings to date milestones, military units, and public works across provinces.
Sporting Tradition: Super Bowl XLVIII and Roman Numerals
Super Bowl XLVIII famously used Roman numerals to label the 48th championship, blending tradition with spectacle. Fans recognize XLVIII on merchandise and broadcasts, illustrating how Roman numerals persist in modern sporting culture and branding.
Using XLVIII in Agile: A 48-Hour Sprint Example
In project planning, schedule a 48-hour (XLVIII-hour) sprint to complete focused tasks; teams estimate capacity, assign subtasks, and measure velocity. Labeling the sprint with XLVIII adds playful Roman-numeral clarity on retrospective boards.
Periodic Art: Cadmium (Atomic Number 48) as XLVIII
The element cadmium has atomic number 48, often shown as XLVIII in decorative periodic charts. Collectors enjoy periodic-table art mixing modern chemistry with classical Roman numerals, highlighting cadmium’s metallic sheen and industrial uses.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 48
NumberRoman
46
XLVI
47
XLVII
48
XLVIII
49
XLIX
50
L