60 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 12/31/2025
60 in Roman Numerals is written as LX, combining L (50) and X (10) to represent sixty. This simple additive notation reflects Roman numeral rules where symbols decrease left to right and are summed. Understanding LX helps decode historical dates, clocks, and inscriptions, offering insight into the practical numeral system used throughout ancient Rome.
LX
How to Write 60 in Roman Numerals?
To write 60 in Roman numerals: Step 1: identify 50 as L. Step 2: identify 10 as X. Step 3: place the symbols from largest to smallest and add their values: L (50) + X (10) = 60. Therefore 60 is written as LX following standard Roman numeral rules, no subtraction is used here.
Breakdown of 60
  • L
    =
    50
  • X
    =
    10
Together, they form
LX
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 60 in Roman Numerals
Prime Factors and Divisors of LX (60)
Understanding LX: sixty equals 2^2 × 3 × 5, making it highly composite with twelve divisors; in Roman numerals LX denotes 60, illustrating additive notation where L (50) plus X (10) equals sixty.
Roman Inscriptions: LX in Ancient Records and Trade
Ancient Roman inscriptions often used LX to record ages, counts, or milestones; sixty featured prominently in timekeeping, commercial measures, and calendar systems, reflecting Roman numerals' practical role in governance, engineering, and long-distance Mediterranean trade.
Cultural Curiosity: Why Sixty (LX) Rules Time and Angles
Curiosity: The number sixty (LX) survives in time and angles—sixty seconds per minute, sixty minutes per hour, and sixty seconds of arc—originating in Babylonian sexagesimal counting, though Romans labeled clocks and monuments using LX notation.
Practical Design: Using LX on Pages, Clocks, and Plaques
Practical: In publishing and design, LX denotes page sixty or chapter headings in Roman numerals; graphic designers and typographers use LX on clock faces, commemorative plaques, and certificates to convey classical elegance while ensuring accurate numbering.
Fun Trivia: LX and the Diamond Sixtieth Jubilee
Fun trivia: A sixty-year milestone is celebrated as a diamond jubilee, often written LX on invitations or commemorative pieces; monarchs and couples mark sixty years of reign or marriage with parades, medals, and symbolic gifts.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 60
NumberRoman