58 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 04/01/2026
58 in Roman Numerals is written as LVIII, combining L (50), V (5) and III (3). This notation reflects Roman numeral rules of additive values and symbol placement. Learning LVIII illustrates how Romans formed numbers using base symbols and simple repetition, offering a concise example for students discovering ancient numbering systems and their practical uses in inscriptions and clocks.
LVIII
How to Write 58 in Roman Numerals?
To write 58 as a Roman numeral: identify 50 and 8; 50 equals L; 8 equals VIII (5 + 3 as V + III); combine them in descending order: L + VIII = LVIII. So 58 converts by splitting into L (50) and VIII (8), then joining to form LVIII.
Breakdown of 58
  • L
    =
    50
  • V
    =
    5
  • III
    =
    3
Together, they form
LVIII
.
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 58 in Roman Numerals
Semiprime Breakdown of 58 (LVIII)
Explore 58 (LVIII) as a semiprime: 58 = 2 × 29, its divisors are 1,2,29,58, and in binary it’s 111010. Students can use factor trees and divisibility tests to understand prime factorization practically.
58 BCE and Caesar's Gallic Campaigns (LVIII)
In 58 BCE (LVIII), Julius Caesar launched the Gallic Wars, beginning campaigns that reshaped Roman politics and territorial control. The year marks the opening of military actions leading to centuries of Roman influence across Western Europe.
58 as an Element: Cerium (LVIII) Curiosity
The number 58 (LVIII) is also the atomic number of cerium, a rare-earth element used in catalysts and alloys. Cerium’s discovery in the early 19th century linked chemistry and cultural industrial advances in Europe and America.
Using LVIII on Museum Plaques: Practical Tip
When labeling museum exhibits, record the year 58 using Roman numeral LVIII on reproduction plaques. Curators, restorers, and educators use LVIII consistently to match period style, aid interpretation, and maintain accurate conservation documentation.
Fun Fact: California’s 58 Counties Written LVIII
California famously comprises 58 counties, which can be written as LVIII if using Roman numerals for decorative maps. Visitors enjoy spotting county seals and trivia displays that celebrate local history across the Golden State’s diverse regions.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz
Roman Numerals Near 58
NumberRoman