104 in Roman Numerals
Updated at: 06/10/2026104 in Roman Numerals is written as CIV. This concise notation reflects Roman numeral rules: C equals one hundred plus IV equals four, where IV uses subtraction. Understanding CIV helps illustrate how Romans combined symbols to represent numbers efficiently, highlighting subtraction principles and symbol values for beginners studying classical numeration systems and context.
Learn how Roman numerals work β
How to Write 104 in Roman Numerals?
To write 104 as a Roman numeral, split it into 100 and 4. 100 is C. 4 is IV (one before five, subtraction rule). Combine them: C plus IV equals CIV. Therefore 104 is written CIV, with C for 100 and IV for 4. This follows standard Roman numeral rules used in modern notation.
Breakdown of 104
- C=100
- IV=4
Together, they form
Roman Numeral Converter
Examples of 104 in Roman Numerals
Math lesson: Prime factors and numeral conversions
In Roman numerals CIV represents 104; demonstrate prime factorization: 104 = 2^3 Γ 13. Ask students to convert 104 into binary (1101000), hexadecimal (0x68), and practice divisibility rules using these representations.
Ancient inscription: CIV in Roman-era records
In ancient inscriptions the Roman numeral CIV marked the number 104; in 104 CE Emperor Trajan continued public works across the empire. Use CIV to teach how Romans recorded dates, census counts, or military unit numbers on monuments.
Science link: CIV and element 104 (Rutherfordium)
The Roman numeral CIV equals 104, the atomic number of Rutherfordium (Rf). This synthetic element has no stable isotopes; mentioning CIV provides a memorable link between Roman numerals and modern periodic table trivia for students and science fans.
Design tip: Using CIV for classical addresses and plaques
When engraving a historical plaque or numbering a stately address, convert 104 to CIV for authentic classical style. Ensure correct placement and spacing, and confirm local readability so residents, visitors, and preservationists appreciate the Roman numeral.
Puzzle point: CIV illustrating subtractive notation
In Roman numeral puzzles CIV (104) illustrates subtractive notation: C (100) plus IV (4). This small example helps learners understand why I precedes V or X only for subtraction, making ancient numbering rules clearer and memorable.
Test Your Knowledge!
Play Quiz